More trees…

img_20161025_235648144

Epic commission for a lovely couple I met during Peterborough Artist Open Studios.

They wanted a similar piece to the other skeletal trees I’ve painted, but with richer green and ochre colours in the background.

I’ve painted it from photographs I took during a sunset at Rockingham Forest, and I love the way the sun reflects off the bark of the silver birches.

It’s watercolour on canvas, so I was keen to find a good matt spray varnish which wouldn’t shift the paint or change the colours too much. Very pleased with the result as it lifted the bronze and gold fabric paint I use for highlights making it more reflective.

Really pleased with the finished piece – and most importantly the client loved it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

