Sri Lankan Sunset

IMG_20160501_190436301 (1)

I work for The Leprosy Mission, and often have colleagues travelling to the most amazing parts of the world a lot more often than me… doing incredible work with the best people.

My colleague Sian posted some photographs of the sun setting in Sri Lanka last night, and I felt inspired to paint it. The contrasting bright yellow and purple haze behind the dark clouds, reflected in the sea. I love it!

It’s really hard once I’m happy with the watercolour base to add ink, as I’m always worried it will go wrong! But like all art in my opinion – the risk creates the better work in the end! I also used some metallic shiny fabric paint on some of the highlights – it’s becoming a bit of a signature.

You can find out a bit more about the work in Sri Lanka here… http://goo.gl/ccO9hY

You can see a few other pics of it on Etsy https://goo.gl/v7iXBa

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

